Our first Rocket Lab launch is *this* close!

Just in: The cleverly named Rocket Lab mission “Make it Rain” is scheduled for a two-hour window June 27 opening at 0430 GMT (12:30 a.m. EDT; 4:30 p.m. New Zealand time). Rocket Lab says it has launch opportunities available through July 10, so the final countdown is ON.

We’re excited for our inaugural rideshare mission with Rocket Lab, taking seven customer spacecraft on this mission, including a commercial Earth-observing satellite for BlackSky, two cubeSats for U.S. Special Operations Command, a couple SpaceBEEs for Swarm Technologies, and a student-built cubesat from the Melbourne Space Program.

The Electron, launching from Rocket Lab Launch Complex 1 on New Zealand’s Māhia Peninsula, will take the small satellites to a 450km x 450km orbit, 45 deg inclination. The total mission payload mass is 80 kg.

Check out these pics from the integration teams in New Zealand. (All photo credits to Rocket Lab.)

The BlackSky Global-3 Earth-imaging satellite, the largest on the mission, gets integrated.
The Rocket Lab and Spaceflight integration teams with the encapsulated fairing.
The Electron “Make It Rain” fairing.

Be sure to follow us on Twitter @SpaceflightInc for live stream details. We’ll be sharing the live launch webcast information about 15-20 prior to launch. You can also visit www.rocketlabusa.com/live-stream for more details.

Get a Quote